Home » Fixtures » Recent Article

A FL Div 1 Round 5

A FL Div. 1

Navan O Mahonys 3-7 Dunshaughlin 1-7

Navan O Mahonys came out on top in the battle of two unbeaten sides at Dunshaughlin on Sunday morning. A snow blizzard that postponed the starting time for fifteen minutes was followed by a blizzard of scores in the first quarter. The visitors pointed inside twenty seconds but Dunshaughlin recovered within two minutes when, after a build up from defence, Ben Duggan carried the ball on a mazy run and blasted to the net. Wes Goodwin with a long range point extended Dunshaughlin’s lead before Ruairí Ó Colieain with a free and a goal, after a superb run that took him past half a dozen defenders, put the Navan side marginally ahead at the quarter mark. Dunshaughlin took the honours in the run in to half time with Tommy Johnson, Niall Hurley, Cian Gallogly and Goodwin all pointing while O Mahonys could only manage a single point in reply.

It left the home side two in front at the break 1-5 to 1-3 and a Shane Gallogly point inside the first minute of the second half suggested the Black and Ambers would take the honours. Instead it was O Mahonys who took control, and despite losing keeper Marcus Brennan to a red card, they scored 2-4 before Dunshaughlin registered only the second score of the half on the call of time when Cian Gallogly pointed after his goal bound shot was diverted over the bar. Dunshaughlin were unlucky with a couple of goal efforts in the second half but could also have conceded a couple of goals in the first half but for fine saves from Adam McDermott.   In the end O Mahonys deserved to retain their unbeaten record and Dunshaughlin will hope to get back to winning ways against Dunboyne.


Dunshaughlin: Adam McDermott; Oisín Foley, Alastar Doyle, Niall Byrne; David Dunne, Niall Murphy, Dan Ormsby; John Crimmins, Ronan Geraghty; Tommy Johnson (0-1), Matthew Moyles; Niall Hurley (0-1); Ben Duggan (1-0), Caoimhín King, Wes Goodwin (0-2), Subs used: Shane Gallogly (0-1) for Ormsby; Cian Gallogly (0-2) for King; David Fildes for Byrne; Adam Kealy for Johnson; Danny Quinn for Dunne; Neil Byrne for Crimmins.

Comments are closed.