Home » Fixtures » Recent Article

JAFC – Group C, V Wolfe Tones

JFC Dunshaughlin 1-12 Wolfe Tones 1-12
Dunshaughlin improved their chances of making the knock-out stages of the Junior championship after an entertaining and close fought game played in ideal conditions in Walterstown. The excitement was at fever pitch in the closing stages as fortunes swung back and forth and both sides had opportunities to grab the points. Tones had dominated the opening stages and led 0-5 to 0-1 before Dunshaughlin realised there was a game to be won. The Black and Ambers took over from then to half time, scoring six points to the Tones two, which left the teams level on seven points each at the break.
Dunshaughlin had the upper hand for much of the second half but missed numerous chances before a James Rattigan penalty, after Conor Jennings was upended in the square, gave Dunshaughlin a goal advantage. It should have been two, but Tones’ keeper Oisín Corrigan made a superb save from Ciarán Hoary to keep out his goal bound effort. Tones capitalised on the let-off when Charlie McGarry got a touch on a long ball into the square to equalise. Alan Fox then pointed to nudge Tones in front but Jennings performed a similar feat at the other end and the sides were all square again. As the game drifted deep into injury time Tones snatched the lead once more but a patient build up ended with Eoin Hagarty guiding the ball over the criossbar and equality. Tones still had a final chance that drifted wide before the referee relieved the tension with the final whistle.
Having dominated much of the game and failed to take their chances Dunshaughlin showed great composure to grab a draw and negative the Tones’ lead four times during the second half. Paul Walsh and Eoin O Connor shone in defence while wing backs Paul Briody and Mark Devanney always provided an attacking threat. Cillian Hart and Ciarán Hoary’s workrate provided numerous openings that led to Dunshaughlin scores.
Adam McDermott; Eoin O Connor, Kenny McTigue, Paul Walsh; Paul Briody, Dan Ormsby (0-1), Mark Devanney; Paul Gilsenan, Michael Ahern; Ciarán Hoary, Eoin Hagarty (0-2), Cillian Hart (0-1); Trevor Dowd (0-1), James Rattigan (1-5), Anthony Moyles (0-1). Subs: Conor Jennings (0-1) for Anthony Moyles; Liam Carey for Dowd, Moyles for Gilsenan.

Comments are closed.