Home » Fixtures » Recent Article

Minor Division 2 semi-final

Dunshaughlin booked a place in the Division 2 Minor Final against North Meath Gaels after a semi final victory over Walterstown.

After starting well and going into an early 2 point lead Dunshaughlin fell behind 2-3 to 0 -3 towards the end of the 1st quarter in what was to be Walterstown’s purple patch. For the rest of the half Dunshaughlin became dominant and outscored Walterstown 3-5 to 0-2 with the goals coming from Brian Clinton, Ruairi Kinsella & Mathew Costello.

The game was put well and truly to bed midway through the 2nd half when substitute Conor Gray was hauled down in the square and Luke Mitchell struck the top corner of the net with the resultant penalty.  The Black & Amber defence were very disciplined in that 2nd half and only conceded 3 points.

Harry Dunne scored a fifth goal  late on and  to the delight of the large home following Dunshaughlin ran out easy winners by 13 points 5-12 to 2-8.

It was positive to see a panel of 25 togged out last night especially as Dunshaughlin were suffering from injuries to a number of players in the earlier rounds. After a very shaky start to the championship and an opening round defeat to Dunderry, Dunshaughlin won their next game by the minimum to their final opponents, North Meath Gaels and could consider themselves lucky that they scored so many goals. Their last group game away to Wolfe Tones was secured with a strong final quarter.

Dunshaughlin can look forward to the final on the October Bank Holiday Monday in Pairc Tailtean.

Dunshaughlin: Gary O’ Connor, Odhran O’ Riordan, Cian Hegarty, Sean Kennedy, Paul Keane Captain, James Traynor, Luke Carty, Mathew Costello (1-1), Ciaran McCarrick, Sean O’ Connor, Harry Dunne(1-1), Darren Murphy (0-1), Ruairi Kinsella(1-1), Luke Mitchell (1-6), Brian Clinton (1-1). Subs: Conor Gray for Brian Clinton, Colm Keane for Sean O’ Connor, Daragh Byrne for Darren Murphy, Fursey Blake for Luke Carty, Aaron Murphy (0-1) for Ruairi Kinsella, John McDonagh for Harry Dunne, Jack Brady, Cillian McCool, Liam O’ Connor, Ethan Mahassey. Panel members not togged out due to injuries: Kevin Bawle, Bill Jennings & Shane Kennedy.dun minor V WALTERSTOWN 2018




Comments are closed.