Home » Fixtures » Recent Article

Minor V Meath Hill

Dunshaughlin 2-15 (21) Drumconrath/Meath Hill 1-6 (9)

Although Dunshaughlin led from start to finish in this very entertaining 2nd round Minor Championship Division 2  game in Meath Hill,  the final score does not reflect how close the teams were for a lot of the game. Dunshaughlin only led by 4 points at half-time (8 to 4) with five of those points from Ruairi Kinsella (2 frees) and one each from John McDonagh (free), Aaron Murphy and Robert Walker. All Meath Hill’s first half scores came from frees. Dunshaughlin had the majority of possession in the first half and played some nice football and should have been further ahead but were guilty of some poor finishing and in form Meath Hill goalkeeper.

Dunshaughlin opened the 2nd half with a pointed free from McDonagh which was responded with Meath Hill’s first point from play.  Early in the 2nd half Dunshaughlin got a vital score, a goal from Kinsella to make it more comfortable. Dunshaughlin added 2 more points from play (Colm Keane & Kinsella) before Meath Hill scored a goal themselves bringing it back to a six point margin.  Meath Hill only managed to score another point for the rest of the game as Dunshaughlin tagged on a further four points (Daragh Byrne, Kinsella & 2 points from McDonagh (1f). Dunshaughlin’s final nail in the coffin was a ball palmed to the Meath Hill net by Keane after a well worked Dunshaughlin team move.

It was a very good team performance with Conor Gray, James Traynor, Fursey Blake & Aiden Fraher leading the turnover count for Dunshaughlin. Jack Nestor’s kickouts were finding Ciaran McCarrick, Murphy  & Gray  who were showing great catching skills. Full back Calum Deehan was winning his battle & Jared Rushe was immense counter attacking.

Dunshaughlin: Jack Nestor, Jeff Wall, Calum Deehan, Jared Rushe, Fursey Blake, James Traynor, Aien Fraher, Ciaran McCarrick, Conor Gray, John McDonagh, Daragh Byrne, Robert Walker, Ruairi Kinsella, Colm Keane & Aaron Murphy.

Subs: Sean Walsh for Jeff Wall, Cillian McCool for Colm Keane, Jack Brady, Cian McLoughlin, Liam O’ Connor, Donagh McCarrick, Moustafa Saadon, Charlie O’ Connor & Jack O’ Riordan.

Dunshaughlin scorers: Ruairi Kinsella 1-7 (2f), John McDonagh 0-4 (3f), Colm Keane 1-1, Aaron Murphy, Robert Walker & Daragh Byrne o-1 each.

Comments are closed.