Home » News » Recent Article

B Division 2 Final V Na Fianna

B League, Division 2 Final

Dunshaughlin 4-10 Na Fianna 1-8

A storming second half performance by Dunshaughlin gave them victory over Na Fianna in the B League Division 2 final at Moynalvey. The first half was a tightly contested affair, which ended with Na Fianna in front by 0-6 to 0-5. The Na Fianna defence was on top for the half hour and no Dunshaughlin forward got on the scoreboard, the points coming from half-back Shane Gallogly and both midfielders, Ronan Geraghty with two and Adam Kealy the other.


The second half reversed the trend of the first as the winners hit 1-2 in the first three minutes, Mark Devanney with a point, Cian Gallogly with a goal and brother, Shane with another point. Jack McNally replied with a Na Fianna point but from there to the end Dunshaughlin took charge. Cian Gallogly added another goal before the end and Danny Quinn and Cathal McCormack netted late on to give the scoreboard a lopsided look that didn’t reflect the closeness of the earlier part of the game.


David Dunne and David Fildes and Paul Walsh were outstanding throughout, especially in the first half with both Davids making numerous forays upfield. Shane Gallogly, Paul Briody and Josh Wall formed a strong half back line with Gallogly and Wall also prominent in attack. Ronan Geraghty and Adam Kealy shared four points between them and got the upper hand on a strong Na Fianna partnership of Brian Queeney and Evan Hendrick. The attack didn’t spark into life until the second half when it recorded 4-5. Trevor Dowd took control of the game from centre-forward, Eric Casserley alternated between attack and defence to great effect and Cian Gallogly ended as top scorer with 2-1.


Andrew Smith; Paul Walsh, David Dunne, David Fildes; Shane Gallogly (0-3), Paul Briody, Josh Wall; Adam Kealy (0-2), Ronan Geraghty (0-2); Eric Casserley, Trevor Dowd (0-1), Andrew Leneghan; Cian Gallogly (2-1), Danny Quinn (1-0), Mark Devanney (0-1). Subs used: Cathal Sheehan; Cillian Hart; Cathal McCormack (1-0); Alastar Doyle; Harry Dunne; Conor Keena.


After the game county secretary Mairéad Delaney presented the trophy to the joint captains, Trevor Dowd and Kenny McTigue.

Photo courtesy of hoganstand.com

Comments are closed.